Adsense Broken Today

I’ll bet there are a number of normally laid back technicians whooping and yelling at oneanother over at Google HQ today. I’ve just noticed that no Adsense ads are showing, either on our own sites (www.ridingdiary.co.uk & www.websitebuilders.co.uk) or any of the other sites I’ve been on today.

Such outages are not new of course, but the amount of revenue being lost is, for some people, quite substantial.

Nonetheless we have come to expect the Internet-business phenomenon that is Google to be above such trifles as displaying today’s error message in place of ads:

Forbidden

You don’t have permission to access /pagead/ads on this server.

Additionally, a 403 Forbidden error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.


Apache/1.3.33 Server at AppStuff Port 80

What is galling is such a message says nothing to my visitors but looks like my website that is faulty (and on a web developer’s website that is bad). I’ll monitor it and if the problem isn’t fixed in an hour or so I’ll have to remove the Google Adsense unit before it gives my business a bad name.

Even more annoying is that there is nothing on my Adsense account control panel to say there is a problem. I’d like see a system status display or something that gives me some idea of what is happening.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

